About the Wordsworth Trust

Professor Sir Drummond Bone

Drummond is Chair of the Arts and Humanities Research Council. He was Master of Balliol College, Oxford until April 2018, and is a former Vice Chancellor of the University of Liverpool and Principal of Royal Holloway College, University of London.  He is also a Senior Advisory Editor of the journal Romanticism, author of Byron (Writers and their Work), and Editor of The Cambridge Companion to Byron. Drummond joined the board in 2017 and he chairs the Collection & Learning Committee.

Mr John Collier FCA

John is a chartered accountant, and was formerly Secretary General of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a partner of Price Waterhouse, and a Director of the executive recruitment firm Clive and Stokes. John joined the board as Treasurer in 2003, and chairs the Finance Committee.

Mrs Mary Chuck

Mary is a former head teacher of a secondary school in Cheshire, where she now chairs the board of governors of a primary school. Mary joined the board in 2010.  She chairs the Estate Committee and has lead responsibility for diversity.

Mrs Judith Cooke

Judith has held senior positions in the health service and criminal justice system. She is a former Member of the Lake District National Park Authority and Chair of its Development Control (Planning) Committee, and she is now a Trustee of the Friends of the Lake District.  Judith joined the board in 2013, and she chairs the Project Committee.

Mr David Heal

David was a journalist in his early career before leading a management buy-out of Harrison Cowley from Saatchi & Saatchi. Harrison Cowley subsequently became the UK’s largest independent PR consultancy.  He is also a former Chair of Business in the Arts North West.  David joined the board in 2013, and he chairs the Nominations Committee.

Mrs Diana Matthews DL, JP

Diana is a businesswoman, chairing Rayrigg Estates Ltd, a property investment company in Windermere and the Cooper Pattison’s Trust Homes, and for many years was a trustee of the Windermere Steamboat Museum. She was High Sheriff of Cumbria in 2013/14.  Diana joined the board in 2009, and is its lead representative on the Cumbria Museum Consortium.

Dr Lucy Peltz

Lucy is Senior Curator of Eighteenth-Century Collections and Head of Collections Displays (Tudor to Regency) at the National Portrait Gallery. Her published works include books about Thomas Lawrence and the Bluestocking movement, and most recently, Facing the Text: Extra-Illustration, Print Culture and Society in Britain 1769–1840. Lucy joined the board in 2008.

Mrs Jenny Uglow OBE, FRSL

Jenny is a biographer, historian, reviewer and consultant, and a former Editorial Director of Chatto & Windus. Her published works include books about Thomas Bewick, Elizabeth Gaskell, William Hogarth, the Lunar Society, and most recently, Edward Lear.  Jenny joined the board in 2007, and has lead responsibility for environmental sustainability.