Poetry and Publishers’ Awards


Leaf Arbuthnot is a contemporary poetry critic for the Times Literary Supplement and feature writer for the Sunday Times. She studied at Cambridge, Yale and the Ecole Normale Superieure in Paris. She draws cartoons as the Glum Cartoonist and reviews books on Talk Radio. Her first novel, An Ordinary Man, won the Pageturner Prize.

Phil Hatfield is Lead Curator for Digital Maps at the British Library, where he previously curated the Australasian, Canadian, Caribbean and US collections. A cultural geographer by background he has research interests in the history of photography, Arctic exploration and European encounters with the Pacific. His latest published works include Lines in the Ice: Exploring the Roof of the World and an article on the collections of Sir Joseph Banks in the recent book, Endeavouring Banks.

Ruth Padel is an award-winning British poet, Professor of Poetry at King’s College London and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. She has published ten collections, most recently Tidings – A Christmas Journey, a book-length narrative poem about homelessness and the imagery of Christmas. She was Chair of the Poetry Society of Great Britain 2002-5, Chair of Judges for the 2010 Forward Prize and 2016 T S Eliot Prize, and a Judge for the 2016 International Man Booker Prize.

Illustration Award

Nicholas Penny (Illustration Award Judge) is Director of the National Gallery, London (to August 2015). His positions have included lecturer in art history at the University of Manchester Keeper of the Department of Western Art at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford, Clore Curator of Renaissance Painting at the National Gallery London, and Senior Curator of Sculpture and Decorative Arts at the National Gallery of Art, Washington. He is the author of many books and articles on both painting and sculpture, for scholars, students and the general reader. His books include Raphael (with Roger Jones), Taste and the Antique (with Francis Haskell) and The Materials of Sculpture.

Back to Michael Marks Awards page