The Michael Marks Awards for 2013: winners announced.

Poetry Award:David Clarke Gaud Flarestack Poets

The judges said: David Clarke's Gauddrew us in with dark and unsettling narratives, which carry us from the front-room of an amateur sword-swallower to the front-line of some foreign land, as the tanks roll in and Death slides under the sheets. Clarke's poems are acutely observed studies of what happens to the subject -- and the subject's body -- when private and political pressures join forces to seduce and to menace.

Publishers’ Award:Flarestack Poets

The judges said: We were extremely impressed by Flarestack Poets, both as the publisher of winning pamphlet Gaud, but also for the overall strength and quality of their output for the year. With extremely impressive poetry, a simple yet striking design, attention to typography, and commitment to outreach demonstrated by a collaboration with a local art school, we felt they were worthy winners of the Publishers’ Award.

The Michael Marks Poetry Award recognises an outstanding work of poetry published in pamphlet form in the UK between January 2012 and June 2013. Self-published work is welcomed. The winning poet will receive a cheque for 5,000

The winning poet will also become Harvard University’s Michael Marks Poet in Residence at its summer school in Greece. The residency will take place in July 2014.

The Michael Marks Publishers’ Award recognises an outstanding UK publisher of poetry in pamphlet form, based on their publishing programme between January 2012 and the end of June 2013. The winning publisher will receive a cheque for 5,000.

The judges are: Judy Brown, Poet-in-Residence at the Wordsworth Trust, Tanya Kirk, Lead Curator of Printed Literary Sources at the British Library, and Thea Lenarduzzi, Commissioning Editor at the Times Literary Supplement . Click here to meet the judges.

Winners will be announced at a special dinner with the shortlisted poets and publishers, which will take place at the British Library on the evening of Tuesday 19 November 2013.

To find out more about the organisations involved in the awards, click here.

© 2012 The Wordsworth Trust. Registered charity 1066184

Dove Cottage, Grasmere, Cumbria, LA22 9SH
T:015394 35544

Welcome to the Wordsworth Trust.

Tell us more about your visit to tailor your own Wordsworth experience. Choose an option below...