The Wordsworth Trust and The British Library, with the generous support of the Michael Marks Charitable Trust, is pleased to present the eighth year of The Michael Marks Awards for Poetry Pamphlets, in association with the TLS and the Harvard University Center for Hellenic Studies.

Wordsworth Trust Director Michael McGregor says:

We are delighted to be continuing our relationship with the Michael Marks Awards. Our involvement signifies our ongoing commitment to contemporary poetry.

The Awards have rapidly established themselves among the most significant awards in contemporary poetry. They are designed to raise the profile of poetry pamphlets, recognising the enormous contribution that pamphlets make to the poetry world.

Previous winners

Pamphlet award

2009:  Elizabeth Burns
2010:  Selima Hill
2011: James McGonigal
2012: Roisin Tierney
2013:  David Clarke
2014:  Laura Scott
2015:  Gill McEvoy.

Publishers Award

2009: The Crater Press
2010: Oystercatcher Press
2011: Happenstance Press
2012: Smith/ Doorstop Press
2013: Flarestack Poets
2014: Rack Press
2015: Mariscat Press

There are three awards:

The Michael Marks Poetry Award recognises an outstanding poetry pamphlet published in the UK between July 2015 and the end of June 2016. The judges will take into account the quality of the pamphlet as well as the poetry. The winning poet will receive a cheque for £5,000.

The poet of the winning pamphlet will also become CHS’s Michael Marks Poet in Residence at its summer activities in Greece. The residency will take place in July 2017.

The Michael Marks Publishers’ Award recognises an outstanding UK publisher of poetry in pamphlet form, based on their publishing programme between July 2015 and the end of June 2016. The judges will take into account the publishers’ philosophy, aims, plans, design ethos and marketing strategy as well as the quality of the poetry. The winning publisher will receive a cheque for £5,000.

The Michael Marks Illustration Award will recognise outstanding illustration of a poetry pamphlet published between July 2015 and June 2016. The judge will consider illustration in any medium and will be looking for a subtle and sustained relationship between image and text, as well as the overall quality of the images. The winning illustrator will receive a cheque for £1,000.


Poetry and Publisher’s Awards

Paul Batchelor Poet and regular reviewer for the TLS

Adam O’Riordan  Former Poet-in-Residence at the Wordsworth Trust

Debbie Cox Lead Curator of Contemporary British Publications  at the British Library.

The Illustration Award

Nicholas Penny Director of the National Gallery, London from 2008 – 2015.

For full details of eligibility and how to enter, please click here

Entry forms for the Pamphlets Award are available here, for the Publishers Award here and for the Illustration Award here.

Open for submissions Monday 18th July 2016

Closing date 4.00pm Friday 26th August 2016.

Winners will be announced at a special dinner with the shortlisted poets and publishers at the British Library on the evening of Tuesday 13th December 2016

Copyright: The Wordsworth Trust

Dove Cottage, Grasmere, Cumbria LA22 9SH
Tel: +44(0)15394 35544

Now you can personalise your visit to our website and get exactly the information you need. It’s just one click, so why not give it a try?